skip navigation

Coach Bill Elliott inducted into Chattanooga Sports Hall of Fame

By Chattanooga FC, 03/08/22, 4:51PM EST


Chattanooga Football Club legendary coach Bill Elliott was inducted into the Greater Chattanooga Sports Hall of Fame on Monday night.

Coach Elliott becomes the first soccer inductee ever for the Hall.

"It is a very humbling experience to be inducted period but to be able to represent soccer and CFC as the first inductee for the sport," said Elliott. "It makes me realize how blessed I have been."

He joined Chattanooga FC in 2012 and led the team to seven NPSL Southeast Conference Championships, three NPSL South Region Championships and three NPSL National Title bids. In 2015 Bill helped guide CFC to win the US Amateur National Championship, the Hank Steinbrecher Cup. Bill has been named NPSL Coach of the Year three times (2014, 2015, 2016).

Most recently Coach Elliott is serving as Technical Consultant for the Club and has been instrumental in the search for the new CFC Women's head coach. Elliott added, "I just want to help anywhere I can with the continued growth of the club. I think there are exciting moments coming this year and I just want to be a part of them."

"I am thankful for all the great people I have had an opportunity to work with here at the club and around Chattanooga. The board, the staff, my family, the players and the fans all contributed to this moment. I am just the lucky representative chosen for the award."

Chattanooga FC Board Chairman Paul Rustand said, "This is truly a well-deserved honor for Coach Elliott."

"He has not only helped to build the character and culture of Chattanooga Football Club, but he has given all Chattanoogans a reason to be proud of – and to cheer for – our city. Coach Elliott built upon our winning tradition and took the club and our city to new heights with many thrilling wins and playoff runs. Bill helped instill a new pride in our city through the sport of soccer. And along the way he converted many fans of Chattanooga into fans of soccer."

2022 Inductees and Award Winners

Baseball: Greg Bowles, Chris Johnson

Men's Basketball: Dewayne Garner, Jay Price

Women's Basketball: Margie Ann Gillespie Jackson

Football: Bill Butler, Bobby Majors

Golf: Daniel Tribble, Jr.

Officials & Administrators: Jeff Flanagan, Johnny Grimes

Softball: Kelli Howard Smith

Special Category (Soccer): Bill Elliott

Sports Media: Eddie Baker

Swimming: Will Hunt

Tennis: Candy Reynolds

Track & Field: Mary Sparn, LaMonte Vaughn, Sr.

Volleyball: Andrea Hudson

Wrestling: Don Elsea, Alan Morris

Reggie White Male Athlete of the Year: Harris English

Catherine Neely Female Athlete of the Year: Madison Hayes

Morgan/Morris Award: Andrew Smith

Walt Lauter Award: Mike Royster

Betty Probasco Award: Linda Benefield

Fred Gregg President's Award: Paul Conn

ChattanoogaFC Chattanooga Football Club ChattanoogaFC