skip navigation

Chattanooga FC to join Second Round of 2023 US Open Cup

By Chattanooga FC Communications, 02/10/23, 3:45PM EST


soccer player in navy uniform celebrates with one finger in the air while player in white looks on

CFC Midfielder Alex McGrath celebrates early goal over Memphis in 2022 US Open Cup

Chattanooga Football Club will enter in the Second Round of the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup again this year.

The Open Cup is the longest ongoing national soccer competition in the United States and the only platform in American team sports where amateurs and pros can square off directly. It all kicks off between March 21-23 with the First Round.

Chattanooga FC will play its game  April  5 in the Second Round on the road vs Des Moines Menace (USL2).

Chattanooga FC was invited to participate in the US Open Cup seven times in its first nine years, all during its days as an amateur club and all during Round One.

In 2022, the club earned its first U.S. Open Cup victory as a professional club by defeating USL Championship Championship side Memphis 901 FC. That earned CFC the right to face MLS side Atlanta United in the Third Round, where its journey ended. 

Chattanooga FC was the only NPSL (amateur) club in history to eliminate multiple professional teams. In 2014, CFC defeated the Wilmington Hammerheads (USL Pro, Div. 3) 3-1 in regulation, and then, in a rematch the following year, they eliminated the Hammerheads in penalty kicks.

Broadcast and ticketing information will be announced at a later date.


First Round (March 21-23, 2023)
Second Round (April 4-6, 2023)
Third Round (April 25-26)
Round of 32 (May 9-10, 2023)
Round of 16 (May 23-24, 2023)
Quarterfinals (June 6-7, 2023)
Semifinals (August 23, 2023)
Final (September 27, 2023)


Heading into its 108th edition, the Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup – U.S. Soccer's National Championship – is the only high-profile competition in American team sports where amateur sides can face professionals in meaningful competition. The history-filled tournament, conducted on a single-game, knockout basis and open to all professional and amateur teams affiliated with U.S. Soccer, crowned a champion annually from 1914 until 2019, with a hiatus for the last two years due to the pandemic.

In 1999, the oldest ongoing national soccer competition in the United States and the world's third-longest continuously running open soccer tournament was renamed to honor United States soccer pioneer Lamar Hunt.

The 2023 U.S. Open Cup winner will earn $300,000 in prize money, a berth in the 2024 Concacaf Champions League and have its name engraved on the Dewar Challenge Trophy – one of the oldest nationally-contested trophies in American team sports – now on permanent display at the National Soccer Hall of Fame in Frisco, Texas. The runner-up will earn $100,000, while the team that advances the furthest from each lower division will take home a $25,000 cash prize.

About Chattanooga Football Club
Chattanooga Football Club was founded in 2009. The CFC Men's team competes in the National Independent Soccer Association (NISA), which is in the third division of professional soccer. The CFC Women's team is a summer amateur team that competes in the Women's Premier Soccer League (WPSL). Chattanooga Football Club became the first soccer club to offer true ownership to the fans in 2019 with 3,200+ investors from Chattanooga, all 50 states, and 31 countries. CFC plays all home games in Finley Stadium in Chattanooga.